Getting Started Developing Add-Ons

Hello,

I am just getting started developing an add-on for Seeq. I have completed the foundations training and read the Seeq Knowledge Base. I have learned about add-ons and their extension mechanisms (AddOnTool, Frontend Plugins, Data Lab Functions).

I want to create an add-on similar (in structure and deployment, not in usage) to the Seeq-SysID add-on. I looked at the SysID add-on source and identified that it is using native python files and a Jupyter 'deployment notebook'. I am unable to recognize the add-on structure suggested here (no addon.json, no obvious AddOnTools, frontend plugins, or data lab functions).

I am having a hard time figuring out how to get started setting up my development environment. The add-on-development page in the Seeq knowledge base didn't quite have the information I need. I am also struggling to understand how this add-on is deployed on Seeq, since it is using native python files and does not appear to be packaged as a .addon as suggested here. Finally, I don't want to follow the method suggested here because I believe the approach may be limiting to the scope of the addon.

Here are my questions:

1. The Seeq-SysID addon does not appear to follow the method of packaging that is suggested here. How is the Seeq-SysID addon packaged and deployed on Seeq? Does it require a user to install it locally before using it on Seeq?
  2. How is the Seeq-SysID addon able to use a purely native python backend with none of the add-on elements (AddOnTools, Frontend Plugins, and Data Lab Functions)?
  3. Can you guide me in getting started developing a similar (in structure and deployment, not in usage) addon?

Thank you so much for any help,

--Kin

• Seeq Team

Hey Kin, 

Great questions!

Seeq-SysID Add-on Packaging: